How to Measure Customer Satisfaction? KPIs, Methods, and Tips

Every company knows the importance of customer satisfaction. But they do not necessarily know how to measure customer satisfaction itself.

This is the heart of the matter. There are many quantitative and qualitative indicators - some of which have already been discussed on Salesdorado: attrition rates, NPS, customer reviews, etc. - so that sometimes you don't know where to start.

In this article, we won't insult you by explaining why customer satisfaction is important. But we will give you a brief explanation of what customer satisfaction really is and how to calculate it, using both quantitative and qualitative KPIs.

How to define customer satisfaction?Image Satisfaction

The problem is usually to measure what is not said. A very satisfied customer will readily say so, and a very dissatisfied customer will say so even more readily. But how do you measure the satisfaction of the majority of customers?

To measure customer satisfaction you have to measure, and that requires interaction with the customer. But there are many situations in which a satisfied customer is one with whom you never speak.

This introduces a huge bias in the measurement, since we only measure the effectiveness of interactions with customers, so we only measure the extremes, and we remain quite far from the reality on the customer side.

This is very common in software, but also in service: in B2B, we often call on the outside to solve a problem, and especially to avoid having to deal with it.

If we focus on monetary and financial metrics, we can approach the notion of customer satisfaction by the difference between the perceived value of your product or service and the cost.

Raised Prices

It is therefore easy to understand the very direct economic interest in increasing customer satisfaction by all possible means: improving the product, offering more services. The complexity is that we are talking about perceived value.

And even if we can hold on to objective elements, especially in B2B, perception is unique to each individual, and it only takes one painful experience to damage it permanently.

The big issue in measuring customer satisfaction is therefore to try to estimate the value perceived by the majority of customers - even if you are allowed to segment.

We'll spare you the paragraph on why we measure customer satisfaction, and get to the hard part right away 👇

6 quantitative KPIs to measure customer satisfaction

1. The Net Promoter Score

The Net Promoter Score or NPS is one of the most popular measures used to assess customer satisfaction. Basically, it is a measure of customer loyalty that is obtained by asking customers the following question:

"How likely are you to recommend our company/product/service to others on a scale of 0-10?"

  • How does the NPS work in practice?

To calculate the NPS, you can share an NPS survey that allows customers to choose a number on a 0-10 rating scale. Once you have collected all the responses, you divide them into promoters, passives and detractors.

  • Promoters (score of 9 and 10): These are your most loyal customers. They act as brand advocates and contribute to the growth of your business by persuading their friends and family to buy from you.
  • Detractors (score 0-6): These are the people least likely to recommend your brand to others. Not only are they difficult to retain, but they may even drive away potential customers.
  • Passives (score of 7 or 8): They generally take a neutral stance. They are not as enthusiastic as promoters and are also unlikely to damage your brand's reputation through negative word-of-mouth. However, with great effort, you can turn passives into active promoters.

Nps Example

Source: ProprofDesk

We give you the NPS formula:

Net Promoter Score = %Promoters - %Detractors

  • The first advantage is that it's very simple to set up, whether you're in software, service, or product sales, the idea is to send a very simple form - which can be answered with one click.
  • It is also a powerful segmentation lever and it is very actionable. You can do a lot to develop the promoters, work on winning over the passives, and reconcile with the detractors.
  • The problem is that like any feedback form, you will have low response rates and a good proportion of your customers will never respond. Thinking that the sample that responds is representative of the rest of your customers is highly questionable. That's why the measure ignores the passive ones and basically assumes that those who don't respond are passive. But this is a real assumption, difficult to verify.
  • You always have to ask the question at exactly the same time. If you want a measurement that has any meaning at all, you have to make the sample as homogeneous as possible. This means asking the question at the same point in their experience with your product or service for all your customers. But how do you define this moment? We often see X days after registration, or payment, or delivery, etc. But depending on the event you choose, you introduce an important bias. A paying customer is a priori more satisfied than a customer who has never made a purchase. And depending on the timeframe too.

Attention

The time limit is very important: wait too long and you will only be interviewing customers who are satisfied (they would have left otherwise). It's nice but not very useful. Wait too little and you only interview customers who want to please you, or who have not yet found value.

  • The other consequence of the device is that you can only take a snapshot of customer satisfaction at a given moment. At the beginning of the experience it makes a lot of sense, it allows you to measure the quality of your acquisition and onboarding. But the NPS quickly becomes very difficult to use.
  • Since the score depends essentially on when you ask the question in the customer experience cycle, it is impossible to compare it from one company to another. Those who talk about NPS benchmarks are charlatans. Try it out: delay the NPS questionnaire by 2 weeks and you will gain 20 points.

The NPS is a great way to measure and track the satisfaction of new customer cohorts over time. But like any measure, it should be taken for what it is.

2. CSAT: Customer Satisfaction Score / CServiceSatisfaction

It is a very popular measure: think of the happy and unhappy men in airport toilets. It is distinguished from NPS because it seeks to measure customer satisfaction with a very specific action.

Example Csat

Source: ProprofDesk

The most typical case is an interaction with customer service: for example, a customer may find it easier to contact the telephone support team than to find a relevant help article in a poorly structured knowledge base. Most customer support software has the CSAT questionnaire and measurement functionality built in.

There is no doubt that successful brands score highly on customer satisfaction. CSAT allows you to collect customer feedback on your products and services and therefore to correct exactly where you need to improve.

  • How does CSAT work?

CSAT surveys usually give customers the opportunity to rate their experience on a scale of 1 to 5. To calculate the CSAT, we only take into account responses of 4 (Satisfied) and 5 (Very Satisfied).

CSAT = [Number of positive responses / Total number of responses] x 100

Let's assume that out of 10 respondents, 8 customers answered 4 or 5.

CSAT score = 8/10 X 100 = 80%.

To remember

A CSAT score of 75% and above is a good indicator of success, but it varies by sector.

3. Customer Health Score

CHS is a popular measure used by customer success teams to determine whether customers are healthy (likely to stay) or at risk (likely to churn). It helps you to carefully segment your audience and focus attention on at-risk customers.Chs ImageCustomer success teams are often faced with a dilemma: either they spend more time on customers who are going to churn anyway, or they spend less time on high-value customers who demand a consistent quality experience.

  • How does the CHS work?

It depends a little on the objective of your business: for example, you may want to monitor the churn rate of your customers, or on the contrary the success of yourupsell strategies.

Therefore, you can use different drivers to build the score. At Salesdorado, we recommend you to use the RFM concept (Recency, Frequency, Monetary Value), which is very classical in relationship marketing, but whose basic idea is also applicable to CHS.

  • Recency: When was the last time your customer used the product/service (or better still, when did they derive value from the product or service if you can measure it)?
  • Frequency: of use, of value generation, of exchange, etc. In the service sector we are quite aware of the frequency of interactions with a customer
  • Monetary value: You can think of it as the value of a customer (LTV) but to apply it to CHS, it would be the monetary value of your product or service.

For example, if you sell clicks to an advertiser and you generate a lot of customers for that customer, the customer health will clearly be much higher than when you sell clicks to a customer who gets no customers. One might be tempted to think that this is just a ratio - as long as the customer acquisition costs are good, the advertiser will be happy. But in reality volumes (in addition to acquisition costs in line with targets) are essential.

To remember

To get an overview of your clients' health, you can include as many elements as you like.

4. Churn

We talked a lot about it in our article on churn rate. The churn rate, also known as customer attrition, is the percentage of customers who stop doing business with your company.

Let's be clear: churn is inevitable. The purpose of the attrition rate is to see if it has reached an alarming level for your company.

  • How does the churn rate work?

Churn Rate

To calculate the churn rate for a given period, you take the number of users at the beginning of the period as well as the number of users at the end of the period.

A simple example: you start the month of April with 300 users and by the end of the month you have 150 users.

(300-150)/300 = 50% churn rate.

  • In most cases, it is too late to act, so it is not a very operational indicator - although you should obviously at least try to winback.
  • A customer base is usually very heterogeneous. Churn is the least frequent signal of customer dissatisfaction - it usually occurs after a number of negative interactions. And because it is the least frequent signal, you have little volume of signals. And so you can mechanically segment less well.
  • With a very heterogeneous customer base, being satisfied with a low overall churn when you are bleeding into a segment with high acquisition costs and high churn can be catastrophic. And conversely, panicking about a high overall churn due to a failed acquisition campaign can lead to very bad interpretations.
  • In addition, it is very often very badly calculated, hence our proposals to optimise the calculation of the attrition rate.

5. First response time

First Response Time (FRT) refers to the time (minutes, hours or days) it takes your team to respond to a customer problem or request.

The link between this measure and customer satisfaction is not very complicated: today, a customer expects a brand to respond as quickly as possible, hence the interest in reducing your average first response time, on all channels, to meet customer expectations and improve their satisfaction.

  • How does the RTF work?

It is quite easy to calculate when your team receives few customer enquiries.

Average FRT = [Sum of total time to first response in a given period ] / Total number of tickets resolved in that period

For example, suppose your team resolved 500 tickets during the month of May and the total time to first response was 20,000 seconds.

FRT = 20,000 seconds ÷ 500 tickets resolved = 4000 seconds or 66.66 minutes.

Attention

Now, things can get complicated when your team handles thousands of tickets every month. In such a scenario, ticketing software like Zendesk can help you automate this process and view your team's average first response time with a single click.

If there are two important things to remember here, it is not so much the KPI as what it highlights:

  • You have to reply quickly - It seems obvious, but it is very common to read emails that are two weeks late, in which they explain that they wanted to check something before replying.
  • If you can't answer right away: say that you are on the case, show that you understand the problem, explain why it takes longer to resolve the situation, and explain how you will do it. Over-communicating in complicated situations never fails

6. First Contact Resolution

But the problem with the FRT is that it often encourages customer support teams to respond with poorly designed templates that do not advance the situation at all.

At least we responded quickly.

But put yourself in the customer's shoes: if you need to contact support, you want a full answer, right away.

If you have to contact the company several times to get a simple solution to their problem, chances are you won't go back to that company again.

You can't solve all the problems in one exchange, but making it a KPI helps to combat this bias.

For phone calls or live chats, first contact resolution means that the customer's issue is resolved before they hang up the phone or end the chat session.

For example, to improve this rate, you can give your agents enough knowledge and authority to solve problems on their own without having to refer to their superiors.

  • How does the RCF work?

Calculating your RCF is simple if you know the number of tickets you resolved in the first interaction. First-Contact-Resolution-How-To-Calculate-Rate

Another example: suppose your team received 8500 customer tickets in one month and resolved 4200 of them on the first contact. In this case, FCR = 4200/8500 X 100 = 49.4%.

Qualitative measures of customer satisfaction

1. Price elasticity

The best way to measure the perceived value of your offer is to see how much your customers are willing to pay.

Not how much they tell you they are willing to pay.

Hence the measurement of price elasticity: it measures the responsiveness of the quantity demanded or supplied of a good to a change in its price. It can be described as elastic, when consumers react to price changes, or inelastic, when consumers react less to price changes.

The question to ask yourself: if you double your prices, how many of your customers will leave, and in how long?

Price-Elasticity

Source: Four Weeks MBA

2. Customer reviews

Image Customer ReviewsYou don't need to know anything about it: when we talk about customer reviews, we are referring to the subjective comments of a customer who has bought and used your product or service. Basically, they can be found in reviews of online shops, websites and other online services. customer review platformsproduct comparison sites, social networks, etc.

Even so, customer reviews are super important and can determine the success or failure of your brand's offerings. In fact, the majority of customers will actively browse hundreds of reviews before buying.

Going further

If you still need convincing, we suggest our article on How to get more good customer reviews (and why)

Pro tip

We recommend reviewflowz.com which is a free solution to aggregate all your customer reviews.

Reader Interactions

Comments

  1. Will says

    I would also include usage metrics, not just declarative. For example the stickiness of the product, in time spent per day, week or month, the frequency of use, the volume of interactions with the product / service, and even potentially some less direct / more complicated elements: how many times or clicks to go from one state to another, or to use such or such functionality.
    From my point of view, declarative data is good, but it should always be taken with care because what users say is often different from their behavior.

    • Axel says

      Hello Will, thanks for your comment. It's true, what you call declarative is what we define as bias of extremes in the introduction, and that is clearly a problem.

      However, approaching perceived value through things "that we know better than the customers" - that seems to me to be an extremely dangerous slope. It's the best way to build a product that nobody wants, in a way that nobody wants.

      How many times or clicks to go from one state to another, it allows you to work on your product or your operations, and potentially generate more value for a certain segment of customers: those who do this action very often, AND who want to do it quickly. It's extremely reductive to reduce customer satisfaction to these kinds of metrics in my opinion, and the bias is huge.

      As for the frequency of use or the time spent, one could easily say the same thing. It is actually quite contradictory with your second point. Is it better to spend a lot of time on a software to perform an action, or little time?

      Basically I think what you meant was that you need to measure the value actually generated by the product or service. For example, the number of high value-added actions performed by a customer over a period of time. This is a classic method in SaaS, by the way. But that too poses a lot of problems. Is the value actually realized perceived? And is it perceived by the right person (the one who pays)?

      The only thing that really affects customer satisfaction is perceived value. For that to happen, you obviously have to generate value, but anyone can do that.

      The challenge, in my opinion, is to understand under what condition(s) the value generated is perceived by the right person.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Comment Mesurer La Satisfaction Client? KPIs, Méthodes, Et Conseils

Toutes les entreprises mesurent l’importance de la satisfaction client. Mais elles ne savent pas forcément mesurer la satisfaction client en elle-même.

C’est pourtant le cœur du problème. Il existe de nombreux indicateurs quantitatifs comme qualitatifs – on a déjà parlé de certains sur Salesdorado: taux d’attrition, NPS, avis clients, etc. si bien que parfois on ne sait plus où donner de la tête.

Dans cet article, on ne vous fera pas l’affront de vous expliquer pourquoi la satisfaction client est importante. Mais on vous propose une petite mise au point sur ce qu’est vraiment la satisfaction client et des méthodes pour la calculer, que ce soit avec des KPIs quantitatifs ou qualitatifs.

Comment définir la satisfaction client?image satisfaction

Le problème est généralement de mesurer ce qui n’est pas dit. Un client très satisfait le dira volontiers, et un client très insatisfait le dira encore plus volontiers. Mais comment mesurer la satisfaction de la majorité des clients?

Pour mesurer la satisfaction client il faut mesurer, ce qui suppose une interaction avec le client. Or il y a beaucoup de situations dans lesquelles un client satisfait est un client avec qui vous ne parlez jamais.

Ça introduit un biais énorme dans la mesure, puisqu’on ne mesure que l’efficacité des interactions avec les clients, donc on ne mesure que les extrêmes, et on reste assez loin de la réalité côté client.

C’est très classique dans le logiciel, mais même dans le service: en B2B on fait souvent appel à l’extérieur pour régler un problème, et surtout pour ne plus avoir à s’en occuper.

Si on s’attache à des métriques monétaires et financières, on peut approcher la notion de satisfaction client par la différence entre la valeur perçue de votre produit ou service et le coût.

raised prices

On comprend alors assez bien l’intérêt économique très direct à augmenter la satisfaction client par tous les leviers possibles: améliorer le produit, proposer plus de services. La complexité c’est qu’on parle de valeur perçue.

Et même si on peut se raccrocher à des éléments objectifs, en particulier en B2B, la perception est propre à chacun, et il suffit d’une expérience douloureuse pour l’endommager durablement.

Le gros enjeu pour mesurer la satisfaction client au fond c’est donc de chercher à estimer la valeur perçue par la majorité des clients – même si on a le droit de segmenter.

On vous épargne le paragraphe sur pourquoi mesurer la satisfaction client, et on rentre dans le dur tout de suite 👇

6 KPIs quantitatifs pour mesurer la satisfaction client

1. Le Net Promoter Score

Le Net Promoter Score ou NPS est l’une des mesures les plus populaires utilisées pour évaluer la satisfaction des clients. En gros, c’est une mesure de fidélisation de la clientèle qu’on obtient en posant la question suivante aux clients :

“Quelle est la probabilité que vous recommandiez notre entreprise/produit/service à d’autres personnes sur une échelle de 0 à 10 ?”

  • Comment fonctionne concrètement le NPS ?

Pour calculer le NPS, vous pouvez partager une enquête NPS qui permet aux clients de choisir un chiffre sur une échelle d’évaluation de 0 à 10. Une fois que vous avez recueilli toutes les réponses, vous les divisez en promoteurs, passifs et détracteurs.

  • Promoteurs (score de 9 et 10) : ce sont vos clients les plus fidèles. Ils agissent en tant que défenseurs de la marque et contribuent à la croissance de votre entreprise en persuadant leurs proches d’acheter chez vous.
  • Détracteurs (score de 0 à 6) : ce sont les moins susceptibles de recommander votre marque à d’autres personnes. Non seulement ils sont difficiles à fidéliser, mais ils peuvent même faire fuir des clients potentiels.
  • Passifs (score de 7 ou 8) : ils adoptent généralement une position neutre. Ils ne sont pas aussi enthousiastes que les promoteurs et sont également peu susceptibles de nuire à la réputation de votre marque par un bouche-à-oreille négatif. Cependant, avec de gros efforts, vous pouvez transformer les passives en promoteurs actifs.

NPS example

Source: ProprofDesk

On vous livre la formule du NPS:

Net Promoter Score = %Promoteurs – %Détracteurs

  • Le premier avantage, c’est que c’est très simple à mettre en place, que vous soyez dans le logiciel, dans le service, ou dans la vente de produit, l’idée est d’envoyer un formulaire hyper simple – auquel on peut répondre en un clic.
  • C’est aussi un levier puissant de segmentation et c’est très actionnable. Vous pouvez beaucoup développer les clients promoteurs, travailler à conquérir les passifs, et à vous réconcilier avec les détracteurs.
  • Le problème c’est que comme tout formulaire de retour d’expérience, vous aurez des taux de réponse assez bas et une bonne partie de vos clients qui ne vous répondront jamais. Penser que l’échantillon qui répond est représentatif du reste de vos clients est très douteux. C’est d’ailleurs pour ça que la mesure ignore les passifs et considère en gros que ceux qui ne répondent pas sont passifs. Mais c’est une vraie hypothèse, difficile à vérifier.
  • Il faut toujours poser la question exactement au même moment. Si vous voulez une mesure qui ait un tout petit peu de sens, il faut rendre l’échantillon le plus homogène possible. Ce qui suppose de poser la question au même moment de leur expérience avec votre produit ou service pour tous vos clients. Mais comment définir ce moment? On voit souvent des X jours après l’inscription, ou le paiement, ou la livraison, etc. Mais selon l’événement que vous retenez, vous introduisez un biais important. Un client payant est a priori plus satisfait qu’un client qui n’est jamais passé à l’achat. Et selon le délai aussi.

Attention

Le délai est super important: attendez trop longtemps et vous n’interrogez plus que des clients qui sont a priori satisfaits (ils seraient partis sinon). Ça fait plaisir mais ça n’est pas très utile. Attendez trop peu et vous n’interrogez que des clients qui ont envie de vous faire plaisir, ou bien qui n’ont pas encore trouvé de valeur.

  • L’autre conséquence du dispositif, c’est que vous ne pouvez prendre qu’une photo à un instant t de la satisfaction client. Au début de l’expérience ça a beaucoup de sens, ça permet de mesurer la qualité de votre acquisition, et de l’onboarding. Mais le NPS devient très vite très difficile à exploiter.
  • Vu que le score dépend essentiellement du moment auquel vous posez la question dans le cycle de l’expérience client, il est impossible de le comparer d’une entreprise à une autre. Ceux qui parlent de benchmark NPS sont des charlatans. Faites l’essai: retardez le questionnaire NPS de 2 semaines et vous gagnerez 20 points.

Le NPS est un super moyen d’avoir une température et de suivre dans le temps la satisfaction de cohortes de nouveaux clients. Mais comme toute mesure, il faut le prendre pour ce qu’il est.

2. Le CSAT: Customer Satisfaction Score / CServiceSatisfaction

C’est une mesure hyper populaire : pensez aux bonhommes contents et pas contents dans les toilettes des aéroports. On le distingue du NPS parce qu’on cherche ici à mesurer la satisfaction du client lors d’une action très précise.

example csat

Source: ProprofDesk

Le cas le plus classique est une interaction avec le service client : par exemple, un client peut trouver plus facile de contacter l’équipe d’assistance téléphonique que de trouver un article d’aide pertinent dans une base de connaissances mal structurée. La plupart des logiciels de support client embarquent d’ailleurs la fonctionnalité de questionnaire et de mesure du CSAT.

Aucun doute que les marques qui réussissent ont un super score en matière de satisfaction client. Le CSAT permet de recueillir les commentaires des clients sur vos produits et services et donc de corriger précisément les points à améliorer.

  • Comment fonctionne le CSAT ?

Les enquêtes CSAT donnent généralement aux clients la possibilité d’évaluer leur expérience sur une échelle de 1 à 5. Pour calculer le CSAT, nous ne prenons en compte que les réponses de 4 (Satisfait) et 5 (Très satisfait).

CSAT = [Nombre de réponses positives / Nombre total de réponses] x 100

Supposons que sur 10 répondants, 8 clients ont répondu 4 ou 5.

Score CSAT = 8/10 X 100 = 80 %.

A retenir

Un score CSAT de 75 % et plus est un bon indicateur de réussite, mais il varie selon le secteur.

3. Customer Health Score

Le CHS est une mesure populaire utilisée par les équipes de succès client pour déterminer si les clients sont en bonne santé (susceptibles de rester) ou à risque (susceptibles de se désabonner). Cela vous aide à segmenter soigneusement votre public et à ramener l’attention sur les clients à risque.chs imageLes équipes customer success sont souvent confrontées à un dilemne: soit elles consacrent plus de temps à des clients qui vont de toute façon se désabonner, soit elles consacrent moins de temps à des clients à forte valeur ajoutée qui exigent une expérience de qualité constante.

  • Comment fonctionne le CHS ?

Cela dépend un peu de l’objectif de votre entreprise: par exemple, vous pouvez vouloir surveiller le taux de désabonnement de vos clients, ou au contraire le succès de vos stratégies d’upsell.

Par conséquent, vous pouvez utiliser différents drivers pour construire le score. Chez Salesdorado, on vous recommande d’utiliser la notion de RFM (Récence, Fréquence, Valeur monétaire), très classique en marketing relationnel, mais dont l’idée de base est aussi applicable au CHS.

  • Récence: Quand est-ce que votre client s’est servi du produit / service (ou mieux, quand a-t-il tiré de la valeur du produit ou service si vous pouvez le mesurer) pour la dernière fois?
  • Fréquence: d’usage, de génération de valeur, d’échange, etc. Dans le service on se rend assez bien compte de la fréquence des interactions avec un client
  • Monetary value: On peut l’imaginer comme la valeur d’un client (LTV) mais pour l’appliquer au CHS, ce serait plutôt la valeur monétaire de votre produit ou service.

Par exemple, si vous vendez des clics à un annonceur et que vous générez beaucoup de clients pour ce client, la santé client sera clairement beaucoup plus élevée que lorsque vous vendez des clics à un client qui n’en tire aucun client. On serait tenté de penser qu’il s’agit uniquement d’un rapport – tant que les coûts d’acquisition client sont bons, l’annonceur sera satisfait. Mais en réalité les volumes (en plus de coûts d’acquisition en ligne avec les objectifs) sont essentiels.

A retenir

Pour obtenir une vue d’ensemble de la santé de vos clients, vous pouvez inclure autant d’éléments que vous le souhaitez.

4. Le churn

On en avait beaucoup parlé dans notre article sur le taux d’attrition (churn rate en anglais). Le taux de désabonnement, également connu sous le nom d’attrition de la clientèle, désigne le pourcentage de clients qui cessent de faire affaire avec votre entreprise.

Soyons clairs: le churn est inévitable. Le but du taux d’attrition, c’est surtout de voir s’il a atteint un niveau alarmant pour votre entreprise.

  • Comment fonctionne le taux de churn ?

churn rate

Afin de calculer le taux de désabonnement pour une période donnée, vous prenez le nombre d’utilisateurs au début de la période ainsi que le nombre d’utilisateurs à la fin de la période.

Un exemple assez simple: vous commencez le mois d’avril avec 300 utilisateurs et à la fin du mois, vous avez 150 utilisateurs.

(300-150)/300 = 50% de taux de désabonnement.

  • Dans la majorité des cas, il est trop tard pour agir donc ce n’est pas un indicateur pas très opérationnalisable – même s’il faut évidemment au moins essayer le winback.
  • Une base client est généralement très hétérogène. Le churn est le signal le moins fréquent d’insatisfaction client – Il intervient généralement après un certain nombre d’interactions négatives. Et comme c’est le signal le moins fréquent, vous avez peu de volume de signaux. Et vous pouvez donc mécaniquement moins bien segmenter.
  • Avec une base client très hétérogène, se satisfaire d’un churn globalement faible alors que vous saignez sur un segment avec des coûts d’acquisition élevés et un churn élevé peut être catastrophique. Et réciproquement, s’affoler à cause d’un churn global élevé dû à une campagne d’acquisition ratée peut conduire à de très mauvaises interprétations.
  • En plus il est très souvent très mal calculé, d’où nos propositions pour optimiser le calcul du taux d’attrition.

5. First response time

Le temps de première réponse (First Response Time ou FRT) désigne le temps (minutes, heures ou jours) mis par votre équipe pour répondre à un problème ou une demande d’un client.

Le lien entre cette mesure et la satisfaction client n’est pas très compliqué: aujourd’hui, un client attend d’une marque qu’elle réponde le plus vite possible, d’où l’intérêt de réduire vos délais moyens de première réponse, sur tous les canaux, pour répondre aux attentes des clients et améliorer leur satisfaction.

  • Comment fonctionne le FRT ?

Il est assez facile à calculer lorsque votre équipe reçoit peu de demandes de renseignements de la part des clients.

FRT moyen = [Somme du temps total des premières réponses sur une période donnée ] / Nombre total de tickets résolus pendant cette période

Par exemple, supposons que votre équipe ait résolu 500 tickets au cours du mois de mai et que le temps total de la première réponse ait été de 20 000 secondes.

FRT = 20 000 secondes ÷ 500 tickets résolus = 4000 secondes ou 66,66 minutes.

Attention

Maintenant, les choses peuvent se compliquer lorsque votre équipe traite des milliers de tickets chaque mois. Dans un tel scénario, un logiciel de ticketing comme Zendesk peut vous aider à automatiser ce processus et à visualiser le temps moyen de première réponse de votre équipe en un seul clic.

S’il y a deux choses importantes à retenir ici, ce n’est pas tant le KPI que ce qu’il met en lumière:

  • Il faut répondre vite – Ça parait évident, mais c’est hyper fréquent de lire des mails avec 2 semaines de retard dans lesquels on vous explique qu’on voulait vérifier un truc avant de répondre.
  • Si vous ne pouvez pas répondre tout de suite: répondez que vous êtes sur le coup, montrez que vous avez bien compris le problème, expliquez pourquoi il faut plus de temps pour résoudre la situation, et expliquez comment vous allez vous y prendre. On ne perd jamais à sur-communiquer dans les situations compliquées

6. First Contact Resolution

Mais le problème avec le FRT c’est que ça encourage souvent les équipes de support client à répondre avec des templates mal conçus qui ne font pas du tout avancer la situation.

Au moins on a répondu vite.

Mais mettez-vous à la place du client: si vous devez contacter le support, vous voulez une réponse complète, tout de suite.

S’il faut contacter l’entreprise plusieurs fois pour obtenir une solution simple à leur problème, il y a de grandes chances que vous ne repassiez plus par cette entreprise par la suite.

On ne peut pas résoudre tous les problèmes en un seul échange, mais en faire un KPI permet de lutter contre ce biais.

Pour les appels téléphoniques ou les chats en direct, la résolution au premier contact signifie que le problème du client est résolu avant qu’il ne raccroche le téléphone ou ne mette fin à la session de chat.

Par exemple, pour améliorer ce taux, vous pouvez donner à vos agents suffisamment de connaissances et d’autorité pour qu’ils puissent résoudre les problèmes par eux-mêmes sans avoir à en référer à leurs supérieurs.

  • Comment fonctionne le FCR ?

Le calcul de votre FCR est simple si vous connaissez le nombre de tickets que vous avez résolus lors de la première interaction. First-Contact-Resolution-How-To-Calculate-Rate

On peut aussi prendre un exemple: supposons que votre équipe ait reçu 8500 tickets clients en un mois et qu’elle en ait résolu 4200 lors du premier contact. Dans ce cas, FCR = 4200/8500 X 100 = 49,4%.

Les mesures qualitatives de la satisfaction client

1. L’élasticité prix

Le meilleur moyen de mesurer la valeur perçue de votre offre est de voir combien vos clients sont prêts à payer.

Pas combien ils vous disent qu’ils sont prêts à payer.

D’où la mesure de l’élasticité-prix : elle mesure la réactivité de la quantité demandée ou fournie d’un bien à une modification de son prix. Elle peut être qualifiée d’élastique, lorsque les consommateurs réagissent aux changements de prix, ou d’inélastique, lorsque les consommateurs réagissent moins aux changements de prix.

La question à vous poser: si vous doublez vos prix, combien de vos clients partent, et en combien de temps?

price-elasticity

Source : Four Weeks MBA

2. Les avis clients

image avis clientsOn ne vous apprend rien : quand on parle d’avis clients, on fait référence aux commentaires subjectifs d’un client qui a acheté et utilisé votre produit ou service. En gros, on les trouve dans les commentaires des boutiques en ligne, des plateformes de partage d’avis clients, des sites de comparaison de produits, des réseaux sociaux, etc.

Malgré tout, les avis clients sont super importants et peuvent déterminer le succès ou l’échec des offres de votre marque. En fait, la majorité des clients vont parcourir activement des centaines d’avis avant d’acheter.

Aller plus loin

S’il faut encore vous convaincre, on vous suggère notre article sur Comment obtenir plus de bons avis clients (et pourquoi)

Le conseil Salesdorado

On vous recommande reviewflowz.com qui est une solution gratuite pour agréger tous ses avis clients.

Reader Interactions

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.